Minutes

(The following is a summary of the meeting)

FORSYTH COUNTY ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS BOARD MEETING

December 21, 2010

The Forsyth County Environmental Affairs Board met on December 21, 2010 at 10:00 a.m. in the boardroom of the Environmental Affairs Department, 537 N. Spruce Street, Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Peter DeVries, Chairman Tommy Thompson Richard Sieg Don Nielsen Willam Mosko
MEMBERS ABSENT:	Nathan Atkinson Fred Osborne
FC EAD PRESENT:	Robert Fulp Angie Evans Peter Lloyd Jeff Ebbitt
VISITORS:	None

I. Call to Order

Peter DeVries called the meeting to order.

II. Approval of Minutes of September 21, 2010.

Peter DeVries asked if there were any questions concerning the minutes of the last meeting or a motion to approve the minutes. Richard Sieg moved to accept the September minutes. A second was received from William Mosko and the minutes were approved unanimously.

III. Air Quality Awards.

Jeff Ebbitt discussed the present award criteria and Tommy Thompson made a motion to continue the award program and the motion was seconded by Richard Sieg and approved by the Board. Richard Sieg suggested the Board consider a new Special Award for permitted facilities that have not had any Notice of Violations within the last five to ten years to get special recognition. The Board requested additional information on 5 and 10 year compliance histories be included in the information provided to the Board at its next meeting.

The Board confirmed that applicants for Special Awards must be present, at the meeting when their applications are reviewed. Tommy Thompson made a motion to continue the Special Award program, the motion was seconded by Richard Sieg, and approved by the Board. Jeff Ebbitt explained he could get a list of the facilities together and present those at the next Board meeting.

Other Business

Mr. Fulp reported to the Board that the EPA has delayed the New Ozone Standard until July 2011.

Peter Lloyd discussed with the Board that the Commissioners now have adopted regulations for greenhouse gas emissions.

Jeff Ebbitt reported to the Board that construction permitting for the new Caterpillar plant has been issued.

IV. Next Tentative Meeting Date March 15, 2011.

V. Adjournment

Peter DeVries adjourned the meeting.

Date: _____

Robert R. Fulp, Secretary

Approved: _____

Peter H. DeVries, Chairman