Minutes

(The following is a summary of the meeting)

FORSYTH COUNTY ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS BOARD MEETING

March 15, 2011

The Forsyth County Environmental Affairs Board met on March 15, 2011 at 10:00 a.m. in the boardroom of the Environmental Affairs Department, 537 N. Spruce Street, Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Peter DeVries, Chairn Don Nielsen William Mosko Richard Sieg	nan
MEMBERS ABSENT:	Tommy Thompson, Vice Chair Nathan Atkinson Fred Osborne	
FC EAD PRESENT:	Peter B. Lloyd Jeff Ebbitt Joy Roach Margie Ader	Scott Larsen Rob Russ Laura Cauble Keith Tart
VISITORS:	Jim Coffey Jim Alty Michelle Adkins Megan Anderson Steve Fisenne	Janae Wells Al Lacsamana Lee Terry

I. Call to Order

Peter DeVries called the meeting to order.

II. Approval of Minutes of Dec 21, 2010

Richard Sieg moved to accept the December minutes. Don Nielson seconded. The minutes were approved unanimously.

III. Air Quality Awards

Jeff Ebbitt addressed the Board identifying permitted sources eligible for awards. The Board reviewed the list of permitted sources including the sources that had received a Notice of Violation (NOV) and the reason for the NOVs as requested by the Board in 2007. Mr. Ebbitt mentioned two changes to the list – one voided and one not operational. Don Nielson made a motion to issue Air Quality Awards to any permitted source that operated without an NOV, seconded by Richard Sieg. The motion passed unanimously.

Jeff Ebbitt also presented a list of permitted sources that had not received an NOV during the previous five (5) and ten (10) year compliance history as requested by the board in December. There was discussion on how to recognize these sources. The Board requested the department to present options for recognizing these sources at the next Board meeting.

IV. Special Air Quality Award and Special Environmental Awards

Five companies responded to the letter sent out from the Department, to all permitted sources, indicating their interest in applying for the Special Air Quality and Special Environmental Award. Only three applicants were present. Representatives from Holcim (US), Inc. and Forsyth Technical Community College were not present.

Janae Wells of Highland Industries gave a discussion and Power Point presentation on reduction of virgin toluene use for the Special Environmental Award.

Megan Anderson of Wake Forest University gave a discussion and presentation on waste reduction and recycling for the Special Environmental Award.

Steve Fisanne of Wake Forest University gave a discussion and presentation on replacing R-11 chiller plants with R-123 for the Special Air Quality Award.

Al Lacsamana and Lee Terry of Piedmont Landfill and Recycling Center gave a discussion on a renewable energy project for the Special Air Quality Award. They have installed three (3) internal combustion engines to turn landfill gas into electricity. The electricity will be used by Duke Energy to help meet their Renewable Energy requirements.

Peter DeVries reminded those present that the board has historically required applicants to be present at the meeting to give a presentation/discussion. The two companies that submitted applications, but did not show for the meeting are not eligible for awards.

Richard Sieg made a motion to approve Wake Forest University's application for a Special Environmental Award. Don Nielson seconded, motion passed unanimously.

Richard Sieg made a motion to approve Highland for a Special Environmental Award. Don Nielson seconded, motion passed unanimously.

Richard Sieg made a motion to approve Piedmont Landfill and Recycling Center for a Special Air Quality Award. Don Nielson seconded, motion passed unanimously.

Richard Sieg made a motion to approve Wake Forest University for a Special Air Quality Award subject to receiving additional information as requested by the board. Don Nielson seconded, motion passed unanimously. Robert Fulp and Peter Lloyd provided with board with a regulatory update on issues dealing with ozone, greenhouse gas regulation, industrial boiler rules, and body shop rules.

V. Next Tentative Meeting Date June 21, 2011.

VI. Adjournment

Peter DeVries adjourned the meeting.

Dated: _____

Robert R. Fulp, Secretary Robert R. Fulp, Secretary

Approved: ______ Peter H. DeVries, Chairman