## FORSYTH COUNTY ENVIRONMENTAL ASSISTANCE and PROTECTION BOARD MEETING

April 17, 2012

The Forsyth County Environmental Assistance and Protection Board met on April 17, 2012 at 10:00 a.m. in the Equalization and Review Board Room, Forsyth County Government Center, 201 North Chestnut Street, Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Peter DeVries, Chairman

William Mosko Richard Sieg Charles Wilson

MEMBERS ABSENT: Tommy Thompson, Vice Chair

Nathan Atkinson Donald Nielsen

FCOEAP PRESENT: Jeff Ebbitt Peter Lloyd

Donna Murphy Bob Ragland Rob Russ Keith Tart

VISTORS: Edward Gibson

Howard Moore Jan McHargue Janae Wells

I. Call to Order.

Peter DeVries called the meeting to order.

II. Approval of Minutes of January 17, 2012.

Peter DeVries asked if there were any questions concerning the minutes of the last meeting. Richard Sieg moved to accept the minutes from January 17, 2012. A second motion was received from William Mosko and the minutes were approved unanimously.

Air Quality Awards.

Peter Lloyd addressed the Board and made a brief introduction about the Air Quality Awards.

Howard Moore of Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools gave a discussion on saving energy at Kernersville Middle School and North Hills Elementary School. Richard Sieg made a motion to approve the Air Quality Award to each school. This was seconded by William Mosko, motion passed unanimously.

Edward Gibson of Winston-Salem, Forsyth County/County Utilities Cornmission accompanied by Jan McHargue, Administrator of Solid Waste gave a discussion and presentation regarding the Hanes Mill Road Landfill project. Charles Wilson made a motion to approve the award. No other Board Member approved the motion. The award was not approved.

Janae Wells of Highland Industries gave a discussion and presentation regarding a partnership with ICE Recycling of South Carolina. Richard Sieg made a motion to approve an award. Charles Wilson seconded the motion the motion passes unanimously.

- IV. Special Air Quality Awards and Special Environmental Awards.
- V. Special Air Quality Awards and Special Environmental Awards Guidelines.

Peter Lloyd addressed the Board regarding the criteria award guidelines for local governments. Richard Sieg suggested awards should be made on a case-by-case basis and recommended to Peter Lloyd to make a draft for the Guidelines of Special Air Quality Awards and Special Environmental Awards on how to define the public sector in Section 1.E. of the Guidelines.

Keith Tart addressed the Board about three Board Member's up for reappointment. It was mentioned that Donald Nielsen was not coming back and that the other two members, William Mosko and Nathan Atkinson have not yet reapplied. It was decided that Keith Tart would write a letter, signed by the Board to the County Commissioner recommending all three Board Members. It will be left up to the Members if they want to return.

- VI. Next Tentative Meeting is July 17, 2012.
- VII. Peter DeVries adjourned the meeting.

Dated: 5/25/12

W. Minor Barnette, Director

Approved:

Peter H. DeVries, Chairman